Maraga transfers 12 Appellate court judges

Alvin Kariuki @PeopleDailyKe

Chief Justice David Maraga last evening transferred 12 Court of Appeal judges. In the changes, Justices Erastus Githinji, Jamila Mohammed  and Hannah Okwengu were  moved from Kisumu to Nairobi while Justices Wanjiru Karanja and Martha Koome were transferred from Malindi to Nairobi.

Justice Fatuma Sichale moves from Nyeri to Nairobi while Justices Gatembu Kairu and Agnes Murgor move from Nairobi to Malindi.

Justices Asike Makhandia, Otieno Odek and Patrick Kiage have been posted to Kisumu from Nairobi while Roselyne Nambuye and Daniel Musinga move to Nyeri from Nairobi. Justice Sankale ole Kantai, who has been in Nyeri, will now be based in Nairobi.

Justices William Ouko (Nairobi)  Philip Waki (Nairobi), Mohammed Warsame (Nairobi), Kathurima M’Inoti (Director, Judiciary Training Institute) and Alnasir Vishram (Malindi) were spared in the changes that take effect on April 8.

A week ago, Maraga reshuffled High Court judges in a move that saw Justice Chacha Mwita moved to Kajiado High Court from Milimani Law Courts, Nairobi. Mwita was in the Constitutional and Human Rights Division.

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has denied orchestrating a delay in the determination of the petition for the Wajir governor’s seat and promised to issue its ruling by February 21.

In an apparent response to an article published in a weekend newspaper, the apex court said it was within the 90-day timeline within which a ruling must be rendered in accordance with Rule 20 (1) of the Supreme Court Rules having commenced the hearing of the petition on November 21.

Show More

Related Articles