People Daily

Rally championship offers hopes for yet another victory for Tundo to claim career

With the 2018 Kenya National Rally Championship (KNRC) Main Class title already decided, five times Safari Rally winner Carl ‘Flash’ Tundo will not only be going for a repeat of back-to-back victories on the Guru Nanak Rally but his fourth career win on the role of honour.

Flash, who savoured his most successful racing season after equalling legendary Shekhar Mehta’s longstanding record of five Safari wins and the B13 championship to boot, will renew his rivalry with multiple Guru Nanak winners Baldev Chager (EvoX) and old boy Ian Duncan in his crowd-pleasing “monster” pick up.

Duncan is the most successful driver in the history of Guru Nanak whose first event was won by Vic Preston Jnr and  Bill Parkinson in a Mercedes Benz 250 in 1973.

Charging Chager, one of the two fastest drivers on the eight-leg KCB Bank sponsored series,  will be out to outpace tenacious Tundo in season closer round on November 18 in Stoni Athi.

Tundo racked up his fourth career KNRC title after beating Chager by a mere three seconds on the penultimate Kabras Eldoret Rally.

“Flash had a very spirited drive in Eldoret and beat me by three seconds. The championship is done and dusted and we are going to GN to have fun. I don’t think anyone can challenge me for second place,” said Chager.

Flash said: “I very chuffed going into Guru Nanak as the champion. It’s been a very hard fight and I’m overly excited that we have finished every event this season. We have proven that we have the pace and us forward to a good event on Guru Nanak.”

Former 2WD champion Eric Bengi in a Subaru Impreza N12  has the KNRC Division One title in the bag and will be going for a rare double as he seeks to beat Oilibya Racing’s Farhaaz “Fazzy” Khan to the Group N diadem. Bengi has a 15-point advantage and will be crown Group N champion should finish ahead of Khan.

Bengi will team up with lady navigator Tuta Mionki aka Tuts in the event associated with Sikhism and organised by Sikh Union Club (formerly Simba Union. Bengi who currently sits in third place on the log will be also seeking to uphold the position against Onkar Rai, Manvir and Khan as Chager is already assured of second place.

The 39th running of Guru Nanak Rally will , nevertheless, see the KNRC gurus face stiff opposition from youngsters such as Onkar Rai nephew of legendary Sarbi Rai), reigning African champion Manvir Baryan and fast-rising Farhaaz Khan.

Manvir shocked established drivers during the ARC York Rally of South Africa (formerly Sasol Rally) in April where he became the first non-South African winner of the event in his highflying Skoda R5.

The battle for the Formula 2  is down to the wire and pits Sarit Shah in an ex Leo Varese championship winning Toyota Corolla RSI against Daren Miranda also in the championship-winning ex Dennis Mwenda Toyota Sprinter GT.

Show More

Related Articles