Tussle in Bomet as Laboso condemns ‘walk-out’ MPs

Felix Yegon @PeopleDailyKe

Bomet Governor Joyce Laboso is locked in a tussle with seven South Rift legislators who walked out on President Uhuru Kenyatta’s function claiming they were snubbed.

It has now emerged that the lawmakers were deliberately excluded from the list of speakers in a bid to bar them from bringing up 2022 succession politics.

Those who walked out of the event in protest were Bomet Senator Christopher Langat and MPs Ronald Tonui (Bomet Central) and Brighton Yegon (Konoin).

Others are Gideon Koskei (Chepalungu), Beatrice Kones (Bomet East), Joyce Korir (Woman Representative) and Alice Milgo (Nominated Senator).

But in what could inflame political squabbles in the South Rift region, Laboso blasted the legislators terming their move over the weekend “unfortunate and ill-advised.”

Uhuru and his deputy William Ruto had toured Bomet University College and later presided over the inaugural Lake Region Economic Bloc (LREB) trade and investment forum. The irate legislators walked out after they realised they would not be accorded an opportunity to speak.

Addressing a press conference, the seven accused top Jubilee functionaries of deliberately failing to recognise them at the event.

They later addressed a parallel meeting in Bomet town which ran concurrently with Uhuru’s event.

But yesterday, Laboso and a section of area MCAs told off the renegade MPs accusing them of acting irresponsibly and causing unnecessary tension.

Show More

Related Articles