People DailySports

Change of class for Thethy in 2019 as action resumes

Nairobi-based driver Rajveer Thethy has confirmed he will move on from 2WD NT Junior Class to 2WD NT for next year’s Autocross Championship and will spend the rest of the season driving his current 1500cc standard buggy.

“It comes a time in one’s career when you feel you need some fresh impetus in your racing career hence the move to the next level. We had to get a new buggy for 2018 which I have now come to grips with ,” said Thethy.

He added: “We are going to finish the year in the 2WD NT Junior Class. I have just put a new engine in and it is all running now. We are going to try and have a go in the 2WD NT class and see how we go against some of the big boys in the class.”

The reason behind the switch is partly to do with his long cherished dream to join the Kenya National Rally Championship when he turns 18 in 2020.

Thethy will be joining Strathmore University next year to pursue an under graduate course in business management after finishing his O Levels at Nairobi’s Khalsa School.

His current buggy which he is moving with to the 2WD NT runs on a 1,500cc Probox engine with standard parts.

Thethy drove a front wheel chopped off Daewoo in 2017 and upgraded to his current rear wheel buggy.

When he turns 18, he plans to acquire a KMSF National Competition License to enable him to join the rally sport and will occupy the navigator’s seat when his father, former KNRC 2WD champion, Charan Thethy at the Guru Nanak rally.

“I feel frustrated with some of the big boys that have dropped down a class into 5B. We are just club level guys trying to compete in a challenge that is more suited to us,” he said.

The tenth round of the Kenya National Autocross Championship will be held at the Jamhuri Race Track in Nairobi County on October 28.

Meanwhile, 19-year-old Hamza Anwar will be looking to improve his lap time in the 2WD NT during this weekend’s event organised by Rallye Sports Club.

Rehan Shah will also be aiming for another top finish in the 4wd turbo although he faces stiff competition from Sahib Omar and Lovejyot Singh. “The autocross has significantly changed due to the KCB sponsorship and we are grateful as drivers,” said Shah.

The 2WD turbo battle will be lead by Imran Hakada, Zameer Verjee, Junaid Shah and Shaz Ismail while the open category will witness spirited efforts by Alfir Khan, last outing’s winner Kirit Rajput, Asad Anwar Shalien Mughal and Imran Hakada Rajveer.     -CHARLES THUKU

Show More

Related Articles