MPs effect changes in House teams

Dinah Ondari and Mercy Mwai @PeopleDailyKe

Members of the National Assembly yesterday ignored a court  injunction filed by Amani National Congress (ANC) secretary general Barrack Mulula and proceeded to adopt the changes that saw most of MPs  allied to the party being kicked out of parliamentary committees.

The MPs  voted in favour of a motion tabled by Leader of Majority Aden Duale and his Minority counterpart John Mbadi, who hit out at Muluka for interfering with Parliament from outside.

The two told the MPs  that it was untrue that the changes had been made in order to punish legislators who opposed the Finance Bill, 2018, saying the changes were made before the bill was tabled in the House.

In the senate, Deputy Speaker Kithukre Kindiki approved a decision by the Opposition to remove Petronilah Were (nominated) and replace her with Beatrice Kwamboka.

In  the National Assembly, among those affected from ANC  include MPs Alfred Sambu (Webuye East), Sakwa Bunyasi (Nambale), Tindi Mwale (Butere) and Christopher Aseka (Khwisero).

Show More

Related Articles