House clerk clears air on imprests

Mercy Mwai @wangumarci

Clerk of the National Assembly Michael Sialai yesterday clarified that all outstanding imprests owed by Members of Parliament have been accounted for.

Speaking in his office, Sialai said the MPs have surrendered all supporting documents. “As of today, all imprests have been surrendered and there are no outstanding issues,” he said.

Sialai added that the only pending imprest is for the late Kitui West MP Francis Nyenze whom he said they will recover from his terminal dues.

He, however, explained that the reason Auditor General Edward Ouko flagged some of the MPs is because either some of them had not surrendered the supporting documents while some were not around when the AG was closing the financial year as at June 30, 2017.

The sentiments by Sialai came after People Daily revealed how, despite enjoying lucrative perks, allowances and stipends, MPs were in debts amounting to millions in imprests.

In his report, Ouko said the outstanding imprests amounts to Sh33.6 million which ought to have been recovered or accounted for on or before June, 30, but had not been paid.

Parliament, Ouko said, owes travel agents Sh140 million in unpaid debts and Sh55.4 million to hotels with a majority of them being in Mombasa where Parliament organises most of its retreats and workshops.

In the list, MPs with outstanding imprests include 25 sitting legislators, one sitting governor, three Chief Administrative Secretaries (CAS) and two senators.

Bomet governor Joyce Laboso had an outstanding imprest of Sh849,992. She served as MP for Sotik in the 11th Parliament.

Public Service CAS Rachael Shebesh has an outstanding imprest of Sh592,176, her National Treasury counterpart Nelson Gaichuhie Sh608,358 and East Africa Community CAS Ken Obura Sh142,633.

Nairobi senator Johnstone Sakaja owed Parliament Sh77,979. He was a nominated MP in the last Parliament, while nominated senator Mary Seneta owes Sh760,686. Members in the House leadership are also included in the list.

Minority leader John Mbadi, has an outstanding debt of Sh75,344, Majority Deputy Whip Cecily Mbarire Sh1.2 million and Junet Mohammed Sh68,479.

Sitting legislators who owe Parliament in unpaid imprests are Jessica Mbalu, Sh1,022,618, Gladys Wanga Sh916,864, Waihenya Ndirangu Sh1,053,605, Daniel Maanzo, Sh 959,533 and Bady Twalib Sh932,880.

Others are David Gikaria Sh654,668, James Lomemen Sh625,525, Sarah Korere Sh404,460, Joseph Manje Sh68,600 and Kanini Kega Sh343,824.

Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC) commissioner Aisha Jumwa owes Sh178,048, Victor Munyaka Sh448,712, Stephen Mule Sh392,556 and  James Murgor Sh458,432.

Some MPs who served in the 11th Parliament but lost their sits in the last elections also have outstanding imprest. They include Roba Duba Sh 687,000, Priscilla Nyokabi Sh235,155, John Ndirangu Sh 239,292, among others.

Show More

Related Articles