House committee reveals 69 parastatals have no boards

Of the country’s 180 State corporations, 69 do not have boards while others are not fully constituted, the Public Investments Committee (PIC) has revealed.

The committee said that 30 corporations are ran by acting managing directors, acting chief executives and acting vice chancellors, which accounts for 17 per cent  of all the State entities.

According to the committee chairman Abduswamad Nassir, the affected corporations include the National Social Security Fund (NSSF), National Hospital Insurance Fund and the Kenya Airports Authority.

Nassir (pictured) said in the absence of the boards and top management, the oversight work of the committee is hampered as some inquires can only be responded to by a substantive holder of the positions.

Nassir singled out the probe on the NSSF audit queries where the Auditor General has questioned the delayed construction of the Hazina Towers, saying that the committee’s work cannot proceed because the acting CEO could not commit the Fund to some of the demands made by the contractors.

Anthony Omerikwa has been the acting CEO for two-and-a-half years while the full board has not been constituted for a similar period.

“In the absence of a substantive CEO and the board the issues arising from the Hazina Towers probe will not be solved anytime soon,” said Nassir.

The committee has also given the composition of the board members per region which indicates that some regions have been marginalised in the distribution of positions.

At 157, Central Kenya holds the largest number of board positions while North Eastern Kenya has the least with 47 members, representing 5 per cent of the 876 positions.

Others are Western region with 90 board members, Nyanza region with 134 members, Central Rift region with 88 positions, North Rift with 77 positions and Mt Kenya East region with 78 members.

The three counties of Lower Eastern have a total of 37 positions while Nairobi is last with 34 positions.

In terms of distribution by counties, Kiambu has 51 board members, followed by Nairobi, Kisii and Nakuru counties.

Show More

Related Articles