MPs pass names of Cabinet nominees

Parliament last evening passed the names of the nine nominees to the Cabinet in a session boycotted by the Opposition. Members mainly those from the Jubilee party and a few Independents, unanimously passed the names with special accolades going to the nominee for the Sports docket Rashid Achesa who made it to the Cabinet despite his limited academic background. MPs who contributed said Achesa was clear testimony of hard work and determination demonstrating that one can make it to the highest levels even with little education.

Moving the motion, National Assembly Leader of Majority Aden Duale said there is no need to put more focus on academic qualification than ability to perform. “It is not about the PhD you have or the prestigious university one attends but about the ability of an individual to perform the duties he has been entrusted with,” he said.

Soi MP Caleb Kositany caused laughter when he told the House that the confidence the President has bestowed Achesa should be an eye opener to the young people outside there who are being misused by the Opposition to just throw stones and hold demonstrations. Yatta MP Charles Kilonzo urged the nominees to serve all the regions in the country equally despite other places not participating in the election of President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Kilonzo, however, had reservations on Achesa’s nomination, but urged him to seize the opportunity and go back to school to further his education. “I was impressed by Achesa’s performance during vetting but he should go back to school because the law might be changed and next time a degree will be required before one is appointed as a Cabinet Secretary,” said Kilonzo.

Murang’a Women’s Representative Sabina Chege and her Trans Nzoia counterpart Janet Nangambo hit at the Opposition for boycotting the session. “It is embarrassing for National Super Alliance (Nasa) MPs to walk out while they will be among the first people to go to the CS offices to seek favours from them,” said Chege.

The nine nominees are Ministry of Public Service, Youth and Gender Affairs, Margaret Kobia, Ministry of Petroleum and Mining John Munyes, Monica Juma(Foreign Affairs and International Trade), Simon Chelugui (Water and Sanitation).

Others are Keriako Tobiko (Environment and Forestry), Rashid Achesa (Sports and Heritage), Farida Karoney (Ministry of Lands), Ukur Yattani (Labour and Social Protection) and Peter Munya, East African Community and Northern Corridor Development docket.

Show More

Related Articles