Kisii MPs back out of swearing-in plan

Mercy Mwai and Anthony Mwangi @PeopleDailyKe

Members of Parliament from Kisii and Nyamira counties have backed out of the planned swearing-in of National Super Alliance (Nasa) leader Raila Odinga as the People’s President.

Addressing a news conference yesterday the MPs from the region said they only recognise Uhuru Kenyatta as the duly elected President as he holds the instruments of power. Led by Kitutu Chache South MP Richard Onyonka (Ford Kenya), a coalition partner in Nasa, the legislators said they would want issues touching on elections addressed some other time as currently they have to serve their people.

The legislators who also included Joash Nyamoko (North Mugirango), Oroo Oyioka (Bonchari), Innocent Obiri (Bobasi), Alpha Otuke (Bomachoge Chache), Zadock Oguku (Bomachoge Borabu), Silvano Osore (South Mugirango), John Momanyi (Bonchari), Samuel Arama (Nakuru West), and Shadrack Mose (Kitutu Masaba) said that although they have an issue with how the election was carried out, they still recognise Uhuru as the Head of State as he took oath of office as set out in the Constitution.

Their sentiment comes just two days after Raila who spoke in Kakamega county on Sunday, vowed that he would be sworn in on January 30, 2018 together with Wiper Leader Kalonzo Musyoka.

Show More

Related Articles