People DailySports

K’Ogalo ace in for second title after SportPesa Award

Gor Mahia forward Meddie Kagere stands to clinch the Most Valuable Player (MVP) award twice within a month’s period after being nominated in the same category by former Kenya Premier League (KPL) sponsors SportPesa for the event slated for January 12.

Ugandan-born Rwandan Kagere was crowned the Sports Journalist Association of Kenya (SJAK) MVP last month in an inaugural gala held on December 18 after a stellar season that saw him play a pivotal role in steering Gor to their record 16th title, scoring 14 goals while at it.

He, however, is facing stiff competition from youngster Lawrence Juma of Nzoia Sugar who was runners up in the midfielder of the year category in the SJAK awards, Michael Madoya of Zoo, Posta Rangers’ and Harambee Stars wonder boy Patrick Matasi and his Kariobangi Sharks’ counterpart John Oyemba.

Kagere who rejoined Gor in 2016 on a two-year contract has also been nominated in the Fairplay player of the year category alongside teammate George ‘blackberry’ Odhiambo, Madoya, Nakumatt’s John Njoroge and Chemilil Sugar’s John Mwita.

Madoya’s midfield mastery that helped the top flight debutants to remain in the KPL after finishing 12th has seen him receive multiple nominations. He appears in the Fairplay Player of the year, Midfielder and New player categories alongside the MVP category.

The diminutive player finished third in midfielder of the year category in last year’s SJAK awards but did not make it to the podium in the young player’s category. Tight competition is expected in the midfielder’s category that has SJAK’s winner Blackberry visibly missing.

Madoya, Nzoia’s Juma, Tusker’s Humphrey Mieno, Sofapaka’s Ezekiel Okare and Ulinzi’s Daniel Waweru made the final list of five. Sofapaka, AFC Leopards, Kakamega Homeboyz, Nzoia Sugar and Western Stima are gunning for the Fairplay club award while Nzoia’s Evans Kadenge, Jolawi Obondo of Gor, Vincent Okello of Mathare, Ulinzi Star’s Christopher Ouma and Willis Waliaula of Sofapaka battle for the Team Manager of the year.

Show More

Related Articles