Wandayi to head PAC as Mudavadi team protests

Party wars continued to dog the National Super Alliance (Nasa) after its members in the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) reneged on a pact which had proposed that the chairmanship be set aside for the Amani National Congress (ANC).

In the pact, Nambale MP Sakwa Bunyasi was to be the chair of the powerful committee, but yesterday when elections were called the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) presented Ugunja MP Opiyo Wandayi.

The ODM team managed to convince the nine Jubilee Party members to back Wandayi who went on to beat Bunyasi. Wandayi, who is serving in his second term, garnered 15 votes out of the 18 members present. Bunyasi got three votes.

Ugenya MP Otiende Amollo who claimed to have withdrawn from the race got no vote. He, however, on his Twitter account claimed he was pushed out of the race by cartels. Kibwezi East MP Jessica Mbalu was elected as the vice chairperson of the committee after beating two opponents.

Mbalu garnered 11 votes to beat her closest rival Busia Women’s Representative Florence Mutua with five votes and Tongaren MP Eseli Simiyu who got two votes. After the elections, ANC members complained that they had been short-changed and accused the Minority leadership in the House of being partisan.

In his acceptance speech, Wandayi promised to discharge his mandate without fear or favoursaying that he would not allow any member of the committee to use his or her positions to opppress others but will be purely guided by the Constitution. “We will discharge our duties without fear and will not allow outside forces to smicromanage us,” said Wandayi.

“This committee shall conduct its business without fear or favour. With the support of other members, we shall ensure that public funds are spent well,” he added. Lugari MP Ayub Savula said ANC, which had been promised the Deputy Leader of Minority leader post warned that the party would reconsider its position in the alliance.

“They cannot share all positions and leave ANC out then continue to assume that we are together. We either get our irreducible minimums or we will not be part of them,” Savula told a press conference last week.

The legislator said Minority positions in Parliament were shared between ODM (Raila) and Ford Kenya (Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang’ula) and that ANC did not get a proper explanation. He declared he will speak the truth boldly and threatened that Mudavadi’s party will chart its own path should Nasa continue ignoring them. “We are equal partners in Nasa and must share all that is there equally.

ANC is not a junior partner in any way.” Suba South MP John Mbadi has since been confirmed the Minority leader while Suna East MP Junet Mohammed will be the Whip. Junet will be deputised by Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa of Ford Kenya. Kathiani MP Robert Mbui who belongs to Kalonzo Musyoka’s Wiper will deputise Mbadi.

Show More

Related Articles