Panel blocks Nasa Eala nominations

Bernice Mbugua @BerniceMuhindi

Election of Kenya’s representatives to the East Africa Legislative Assembly (Eala) was last night thrown into confusion after the Political Parties Dispute Tribunal temporarily halted nomination of 12 Nasa nominees by Parliament.

The orders came as the National Assembly was preparing to hold elections today. It, however, remains to be seen if the House will comply with the directive as the Legislature and Judiciary operate on the principal of separation of powers.

PPDT chairman Kyalo Mbobu issued the temporary order pending the inter parties hearing and determination of a suit filed by Narok West parliamentary loser Jimmy Lukka. The tribunal directed him to file the notice of motion together with the complaint and to be served forthwith to the respondents.

Lukka had filed the application challenging the Nasa list, saying it did not meet the criteria set out in the constitution. He has sued three Nasa affiliated parties, Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), Wiper Democratic Movement and Amani Congress, and both Clerks of Parliament.

The 12 nominees including Oburu Odinga, Abubakar Zain, Beht Mutunga and Fatuma Ibrahim have been named as respondents and interested parties in the suit.

Show More

Related Articles