NATIONALNEWSPeople DailyTop Stories

City Assembly approves all Sonko Cabinet nominees

Members of the Nairobi County Assembly on Wednesday approved 10 Cabinet nominees named by Governor Mike Sonko. The Committee on Appointments chaired by Speaker Beatrice Elachi told the House that the nominees had met the constitutional and statutory requirements for their respective dockets.

“None of the County Executive Committees (CECs) presented any conflict of interests and has ever been charged in a court of law,” she said. She added: “All the nominees satisfy the requirements of Chapter six of the Constitution on leadership and integrity.”

The 12-member committee said the two-thirds gender rule was met and ethnic and regional balance in naming the seven men and three women for the executive jobs was taken into consideration.

Among the approved nominees is former The Star newspaper Chief Editor Charles Kerich (ICT), former Public Service Board vice chairperson Vesca Kangogo (Finance and Economics), former National Housing Corporation MD Peter Njuguna (Lands, Urban renewal and Housing), Nairobi Safari Club MD Allan Igambi (Tourism).

Others are Emmah Muthoni (Environment, Water, Energy and Natural Resources), County Service Delivery Unit director Danvas Makori (Agriculture), Janet Ouko (Education), Larry Wambua (Devolution, Public Service and administration), Mohamed Dagane (Infrastructure and Transport), and Hitan Majevda (Health).

“Without CECs, nothing can go on in the county. That is why we need to approve this list so that things can move,” Leader of Majority Abdi Guyo said. Presenting his Cabinet, Sonko said the team has highly qualified individuals with proven integrity, adding that they would deliver efficient services to residents.

“I have nominated a team of men and women who have been tried and tested in service delivery in various organisations,” he said. The nominees are set to be sworn in on Monday.

Show More

Related Articles