Kinyanjui, Godhana bid to form Cabinets thwarted

Nakuru Governor Lee Kinyanjui and his Tana River counterpart Major (rtd) Dhadho Godhana yesterday had either part or whole lists of their Cabinet nominees rejected. Kinyanjui’s four out of 10 executive nominees were rejected while Godhana’s entire list was thrown out at the vetting stage.

In Nakuru, a 45-page vetting report was presented to the Assembly by the Committee on Appointments, which was chaired by Speaker Maina Kairu. Those who were rejected are Raymond Komen, former Chief of Staff in former governor Kinuthia Mbugua’s administration.

He had been appointed to the Education and E-Government docket and Joseph Kiuna (Finance and Economic Planning). Settle scores Halima Abdulahi, a senior Public Health officer in the county and Lucy Wanjiku, an engineer at Kenya Pipeline Company, were also rejected.

The two had been appointed for Youth, Gender and Sports and Lands, Housing and Physical Planning dockets respectively. The report, which was tabled before the House by Leader of Majority Stanley Karanja, said the rejected nominees either did not have the required academic qualifications or experience for the dockets they had been appointed to. Area MCAs, however, disputed this claim accusing the committee of conducting a witch-hunt.

They added that the committee was trying to settle political scores. Mosop Ward MCA Daniel Mutai questioned the rejection of Komen, saying he was the most experienced in the team. “When they say he doesn’t have the academic qualification what are they talking about?

Why are they frustrating him?” he posed. The nominees who were approved include Peter Ketyenye (Trade and Industry), Festus N’geno (Water, Environment and Natural Resources), Lawrence Mwania (Public Service, Training and Devolution) and Irungu Mburu (Infrastructure).

In Tana River, the County Assembly Committee on Appointments threw out Godhana’s list of seven nominees, saying they had been nominated to dockets unrelated with their areas of expertise. The report, which was tabled in the House by Leader of Majority Ibrahim Adamow, was rejected by the minority MCAs, who read malice and settling of scores in the rejection.

Adamow, however, said all the nominees had passed the integrity test under Chapter Six of the Constitution but did not exhibit knowledge and competence in the dockets to which they had been nominated. He added that the list had not met the constitutional requirement of the two thirds gender rule and did not include persons with disabilities.

Deputy Speaker Saddam Hussein, who had appended his signature to the report, opposed it in the Assembly, saying he did not know that signing the report meant that he agreed with the committee’s decision. Some of the rejected nominees include Mwanajuma Habwoka (Water, Energy, Environment and Natural Resources).

Show More

Related Articles