People Daily

Off-road pro – meet James Paul Sila Luusa

Sandra Wekesa

Tell us about yourself:

My name is James Paul Sila Luusa. I am 12 years old and I go to Cavina School in Valley Road. I am a KCPE candidate and a good biker as well.

When did you develop interest in motorbike riding?

It was at the age of 10, in October 2015. I figured out that it’s the easiest thing to do.

What inspired you to become a rider?

My father and my uncle Patrick Malungu were my inspiration. Every time I saw them get on their bikes, I wished to be like them. That is how I fell in love with motocross.

Tell us about your bikes:

I have three babies. I call them that because of the love I have for them. Maria, Liz and Bubba; I use them all, but I have a favourite. I use Maria for practice, Liz is for racing and Bubba for enduro, a type of motocycle sport.

Do you have a coach?

Yes, one of them is my uncle Patrick and also my father. My dad is a good biker who prefers to coach young riders. My parents support me in my interest, they are always encouraging me to become better. Apart from my family, my sponsors Crown Paints, Royal Associates Insurance Brokers and Judd Racing are also supportive.

When was your breakthrough?

It came in the early season of 2015 when I made my way to my first ever podium. It was during the CAC 2 (Continental Africa Competition) held in Kenya. I was nervous at first, but I aced the competition.

Tell us about other competitions you have participated in:

They are many, few of them being CAC 1 and 2 of 2016, MXOAN (Motocross of African Nations) of 2016 and CAC 1 of 2017. CAC is held in two rounds, that is in Uganda and Kenya on April and December respectively. Currently, I am leading with seven rounds, however, there are two more rounds to go to complete the calendar.

What are some of the challenges you faced?

It was quite muddy during some races, and there was also unfavourable climate in some instances. How do you balance school and the sport? I try my best to focus on what I’m doing at the moment. As they say, one thing at a time. This means if I am riding, I try to focus on that. Practising has, however, taken a back seat a bit lately, as I prepare for my KCPE exams. I have been spending most of my time studying.

What else do you do other than biking?

I also swim and play football, mostly at home with my friends. Again, I love cycling and playing cricket.

Do you want to continue participating in motocross when you grow up?

Yes, and if I get the opportunity to race professionally, I don’t think I will hesitate.

Show More

Related Articles