People DailySports

Vohra aims at eighth win as Autocross heads to Mai Mahiu

Christine Babu @PeopleSports11

Two Wheel Drive Non Turbo defending champion Samman Vohra is aiming for an eighth straight win when the sixth round of the KCB National Autocross Championship gets underway at the new Izmir Raceways racetrack in Mai Mahiu this Sunday.

Vohra, who skipped four rounds due to academic commitments, returns to the series in his Rage Buggy up against leader Gillian Bailey and fellow youngster Hamza Anwar. Vohra, who defeated the legendary Ian Duncan during the fifth round at Jamhuri Park, hopes the latter will be back in his Classic Ford Capri to offer him good competition.

“After being away from racing for eight months, getting back behind the wheel of the Rage felt sensational at Jamhuri. It felt great having a really close battle with legendary six-time Kenya National Rally Champion Duncan and as luck had it, taking the three seconds of his time to win is a lifelong memory,” said Vohra.

He added: “Preparations for Mai Mahiu are going well. We just fitted our new steering rack but being a new track, it will call for a slight caution.

The strategy is to drive fast.” Babmbino Class has attracted the likes of girl driver Syanna Jessop and Illiyum Mughal, Yuvraj Rajput, who is in the UK, and Tsevi Soni will be the notable absentees in this category which is a preserve of kid drivers.

The 4WD Turbo Class will see Mitsubishi’s Azar Anwar renew his rivalry with Subaru duo of Rehan Shah and Ken Nteere of Nanyuki while the 2WD Turbo for “Attacker Buggies” has attracted the biggest entry with leader Shalien Mughal hoping for the best on the home track.

Shalien will fight it out with defending champion Imran Hakada, Karan Sehmi, Lovejyot Singh, Zameer Verjee, Mohamed Omar Anwar, Nikhil Kapoor, veteran Shaz Esmai, Kunal Patel, Christopher Gow and lady driver Nisha Pandya.

Show More

Related Articles