People DailySports

Kenya Simbas could face champs New Zealand, SA

Nairobi, Wednesday @PeopleSports11

The 2018 Africa Cup winner has been banded in the “Pool of Death” in the 2019 Rugby World Cup to be held in Japan. The pooling was done on Wednesday in Japan where the Africa winner, hopefully Kenya Simbas, will play reigning champions New Zealand, South Africa and a repechage winner.

Kenya—who will face off with Uganda, Namibia, Zimbabwe and Senegal for the sole African ticket—will not avoid New Zealand, Italy, South Africa and the repechage winner if they sail through.

The World Cup will take place between September 20 and November 2 2019.Meanwhile, England received a horror draw for the second straight Rugby World Cup when they landed in a tough pool alongside France and Argentina.

Two-time winners Australia went into Pool D with Wales and Georgia, while Ireland will face Scotland and hosts Japan in Pool A. Two more teams will be added to each group after qualifying, which England will now watch closely after their nightmare showing in 2015.

Two years ago, England became the first World Cup hosts not to reach the knock-outs after they were grouped with Wales, Australia, Fiji and Uruguay. “It’s all very exciting isn’t it?.

We’ve got two Tests against Argentina in June so we can practise a little bit,’’ said coach Eddie Jones, who has led England to 17 wins in 18 games and two straight Six Nations titles.

Wednesday’s draw could complicate Jones’s oft-repeated vow to dethrone top-ranked New Zealand, who have won the World Cup three times. England have a mixed World Cup record against France and their last meeting was a quarter-final defeat in 2011 in Auckland.

They have won both of their World Cup games so far against Argentina, but the Pumas are much improved and reached the semi-finals in 2015. -Agencies

Show More

Related Articles