People DailySports

Mwamba take Kabeberi title after hard-fought win over Impala

Hosts Mwamba RFC won the Kabeberi Sevens title following a 26-22 victory over Impala as the 2015 National Sevens Circuit ended at the RFUEA Grounds in Nairobi yesterday.

With Top Fry Nakuru having been crowned series champions by virtue of reaching the Cup semi-final for an unassailable lead of 91 points, pride is all that was at stake as the star-studded Mwamba lined up against a resurgent Impala.

It was not an easy victory for the Black Shirts, however, as Impala drew first blood when Ian Mirinje touched down before Nato Simiyu converted for a 7-0 lead after two minutes, and a minute later, the latter scored Impala’s second try to extend the Gazelles lead to 12-0.

That early scare woke up Mwamba who responded when former Sevens skipper Humphrey Khayange scored their first try with his brother Collins Injera converting to reduce the arrears to 12-7 in the fifth minute.

A minute later, it was still a family affair as Michael Agevi—the younger brother to Khayange and Injera scored another try. Njiera would convert to see Mwamba take a 14-12 lead at half-time.

After the break, Impala came back rejuvenated and quickly notched in a try to regain the lead in the 12th minute but Mwamba’s class told when Injera’s try made it 19-17 two minutes later.

That setback did not deter Impala who responded with another try two minutes later with Simiyu converting once more for a 22-19 lead for the Gazelles. With time running out, the home team upped their game, Ahmed Shaban coming to the rescue this time with a well worked try which Injera converted for a 26-22 win at the death.

This is Mwamba’s second title this season having claimed the Driftwood crown in Mombasa two weeks ago. Newly-crowned series champions Nakuru who won their home tournament Prinsloo last week and the Dala sevens in Kisumu last month finished fourth at Kabeberi having been thrashed 12-0 by Kabras Sugar in the third-place playoff.

Outgoing champions KCB who have won the last two titles in a row were beaten 12-10 by Homeboyz in the Plate final.

Show More

Related Articles