NEWSPeople Daily

State in major police, county heads shake-up to stem crime

Interior Cabinet secretary Joseph Nkaissery and Inspector General of Police Joseph Boinnet have announced a radical shake-up in the security and administration sectors affecting 33 County Commissioners and Police Commanders.

Former Nairobi county commander Benson Kibue and County Commissioner will be replaced by Godfrey Mwaura as the County Commissioner and Japheth Koome as county commander.

In North Eastern, Michael ole Tialal has been named the Wajir County Commissioner while Samuel Mukindia county commander. James Kianda will be Garissa new County Commissioner while Rashid Yakubu is the County Commander.

In Eastern region, Wilfred Nyagwaga is the Meru County Commissioner while Benjamin Cheboi is the county commander. Marsabit will see Moffat Kangi become the new County Commissioner and Benjamin Kogoo the new county Commander.

Tharaka Nithi will see Amoit Florence as the County Commissioner while Bashane Ahmed is the county commander. In Isiolo, George Natembea becomes the County Commissioner and Jacob Muriuki county commander.

In Embu, Esther Maina has been named the County Commissioner and John Willis Okello the county commander. Makueni will see Pauline Dola become County Commissioner while Martin Ouna the new county commander.

Kitui will see Boaz Cherutich become the County Commissioner while Jones Cheruto Githinji has been retained as the county commander. In Machakos, Julius Mathenge becomes the County Commissioner while Jacinta Odhiambo is the County police commander.

In Coast region Peter Okwanyo becomes the County Commissioner while Walter Ong’ayo is the County commander. Vocal Mombasa County Commissioner Nelson Marwa has been retained while Francis Wanjohi Mwangi becomes the county commander.

Taita Taveta will see Joseph Oningo Ole Sossio become the new County Commissioner while Samuel Mbugua Kimwere becomes the county commander. Evans Achoki is the Kwale county Commissioner while James Akoru is the county commander.

Lamu, on the other hand, has seen Fredrick Ndambuki assume the position of County Commissioner while Chrispus Mutali will become the county commander. In Western region Anne Gakuria is the Vihiga County Commissioner while Elisha Odhiambo is the county commander.

In Busia, Isaiah Nakoru becomes the County Commissioner while Stephen Mwinzi becomes the county commander. Bungoma county will see Ahmed Mohammed Maalim as the new commissioner while Paul Soi is the county commander.

In Nyanza region, Chege Mwangi becomes the County Commissioner for Kisii while Simon Muriithi Kiragu becomes the county police commander. Nyamira will see Josephine Onunga become Commissioner while Mwarugu Mwandoe becomes the police commander.

Homa Bay’s commissioner is Kassim Farah while John Odhiambo is the police commander. Kisumu county will see Elungata John assume the role of County Commissioner while Joseph Chepkeitany becomes the police commander.

In Rift valley region, West Pokot will see Wilson Wanyanga becomes the County Commissioner while Mathew Kuto will become the police commander.

Trans Nzoia will see Matata Seif become Commissioner while Lillian Akoth is the new county commander. The shake-up, which takes effect immediately, comes amid State re-commitment to curbing runaway insecurity including terrorism and violent extremism.

Show More

Related Articles